6 comments on “The New American Idol is……

  1. Chris has an amazing story and I hope it leads he and his girlfriend to a saving faith in the Lord. However, when you state “as far as I’m concerned this guy is an American Idol that we can all admire and respect!” I shudder. You say your blog’s purpose is “re-engaging the family and the church” yet you are exalting this man who sings “I’m just praying to a God that I don’t believe in.” What’s wrong with this picture? I don’t admire those who will not be by my side in heaven, I pity them.

    • Respect your viewpoint but humbly choose to see things from a different perspective

      I choose to admire someone like Chris for his integrity to stay with his fiancee when many would leave. I deeply admire him for making that choice and embracing his brokeness.

      Maybe you have never experienced tragedy, hardship or doubt but often when we do – we may find it hard to believe in God. When I lost my parents …even though I had been a pastor for many years – it shook my faith to the core.

      Do I admire the fact that he us praying to God that he doesn’t believe in? At least he is calling out …I believe God is big enough to meet him in his unbelief – God met me when I struggled through the valley. Just because he doesn’t believe now doesn’t mean he won’t tomorrow….

      What are we who are called to bring Christ to this world doing beyond pitying those who will not be by our side in eternity?

  2. All his integrity staying with his fiancee is nothing apart from Jesus. Just saying. He often brings us to Him though our hardships and tragedys. To see someone walking a path of tragedy and not turning to Him in it, but in fact singing of unbelief is difficult to watch. Humbly praying for him and others lost.

    • What if a person believes in Jesus but chooses to bail on their family – still admirable? A high percentage of North Americans say they believe in Jesus but there actions don’t mirror their belief…just a thought

  3. Agreed. A high percentage say they believe but small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it. (Matthew 7:14). Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’ Matthew 7:22,23.
    Sadly, many false converts. Those who truly love Jesus follow His commands. (John 14:15.)

    http://www.livingwaters.com/learn/trueandfalse.htm.

  4. little lamb… i understand where you are coming from but really realize the need for the word GRACE when we talk about those who don’t know Christ yet.

Leave a Reply

